Karl Lagerfeld Backtracks After Calling Adele Fat

Karl Lagerfeld is eating the harsh words he had for Adele.

On Monday, the designer and creative director for Chanel told Metro that he enjoyed Adele’s music, but at the same time felt the need to comment on the Brit singer’s weight.

“The thing at the moment is Adele,” he said. “She is a little too fat, but she has a beautiful face and a divine voice.”

The uproar was fast and furious, and Lagerfeld has since backtracked with a larger explanation.

“I’d like to say to Adele that I’m your biggest admirer,” he said in Metro on Wednesday, adding that his remark was taken out of context. The statement above was in response to a question about Lana Del Rey, the oft-ridiculed singer whom Lagerfeld said “is not bad at all,” but he added that he prefers “Adele and Florence Welch.”

In his apology, the designer continued, “What I said was in relation to Lana Del Rey…I actually prefer Adele, she is my favorite singer.”

Recounting his own weight loss 10 years ago, Lagerfeld added, “I know how it feels when the press is mean to you in regards to your appearance. Adele is a beautiful girl. She is the best. And I can’t wait for her next CD.”

Posted on February 9, 2012, in Hollywood Buzz and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment