Madonna On M.I.A. Bird Flip: It Was Out Of Place

Madge stayed mum when her co-performer, M.I.A., flipped off America during the Super Bowl, but the singer is now speaking out.

In an interview with Ryan Seacrest on his radio show Friday, Madonna said she honestly had no idea M.I.A. had even done it.

“I was really surprised,” Madonna tells Seacrest. “I didn’t know anything about it.”

And when she learned of M.I.A.’s middle finger brouhaha, she says she “wasn’t happy about it.”

“I understand it’s punk rock and everything, but to me there was such a feeling of love and good energy, and positivity, it seemed negative,” the performer said. “It’s such a teenager, irrelevant thing to do. There was such a feeling of love and unity there, what was the point? It was just out of place.”

A source close to M.I.A. said the artist didn’t do the action intentionally, saying she was “nervous and not thinking,” and that “adrenaline took over.”

“It wasn’t meant as a gesture or statement of any kind,” the source continued. “She feels horrible for putting Madonna in that position. She messed up.”

Posted on February 10, 2012, in Hollywood Buzz and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

