Oscar De La Hoya Checked Himself Into Rehab

Oscar De La Hoya checked himself into rehab voluntarily and tells media he feels he will come out “a stronger, healthier person.”

De La Hoya entered a rehab facility in California sometime within the last few weeks. De La Hoya is seeking help for substance abuse issues. A source close to the boxing legend tells the media he has “voluntarily commenced proactive treatment to address certain health and personal issues.”

De La Hoya issued a statement that reads, “After doing an honest evaluation of myself, I recognize that there are certain issues that I need to work on. Like everyone, I have my flaws, and I do not want to be one of those people that is afraid to admit and address those flaws.

“Throughout my career and my life, I have always met all challenges head-on, and this is no different. I am confident that with the support of my family and friends, I will become a stronger, healthier person.

Oscar dela Hoya challenged pound per pound champ Manny “Pacman” Paquiao in 2009. He hasn’t fought anybody after losing this fight. De la Hoya has high respect for Pacman and considers himas one of the best boxers of the century. Manny Paquiao hails from General Santos, Philippines.

Posted on May 25, 2011, in Hollywood Buzz. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

